Category: News Release

USA College Football names four Marauders preseason All-Americans

NEW YORK – Four University of Mary seniors earned spots on the 26th annual USA College Football D-II Preseason All-American team. Safety Preston Tescher and linebacker Seth Walton claimed first team recognition. Quarterback Zach Roberson was placed on the second team and offensive lineman Deon Paulson was an honorable mention selection. USA College Football recognized just four percent of NCAA Division II football players – 750 student-athletes total – with pre-season All-American status. A two-time All-Northern Sun North Division first team selection, Tescher posted a team-high 60 solo stops and accumulated a career-high 89 tackles as a junior in 2014. The Bismarck, N.D., native also recorded 3.0 tackles for loss, had an interception, recovered a fumble and broke up six passes while finishing 15th in the Northern Sun in total tackles and fourth in solo tackles. In three of his last four games of the year, Tescher posted double digit tackle numbers and twice had 10 solo tackles during the season. Tescher saw considerable action as a true freshman and will be a three-year starter in 2015. Walton earned All-NSIC North Division honorable mention honors after finishing among the tackle leaders in the conference. The outside linebacker from Pleasant Hill, Calif., made 64 tackles, including 29 solo stops, and was third on the Marauders in tackles. Walton had 4.0 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, an interception, and two forced...

Read More

Monsignor Shea elected to Executive Committee

BISMARCK, ND — The Association of Benedictine Colleges and Universities (ABCU) elected University of Mary President, Monsignor James Shea, to its board of directors’ executive committee. Shea is honored to continue the mission of the pioneering Benedictine Sisters of Annunciation Monastery, the founders and sponsors of the University of Mary. He accepted his new position at the recent ABCU annual meeting in Atchison, KS. Shea fills the spot vacated by Dr. Larry Goodwin, who announced he is retiring as president of the College of St. Scholastica in June of 2016. Shea also joins retired University of Mary faculty member Jeannine Saabye who serves as the new executive director of the ABCU, a leadership consortium of 14 Benedictine colleges and universities throughout the United States and Canada. The ABCU is committed to academic and professional excellence while holding true to the Gospel values as interpreted by the Rule of Saint...

Read More

University of Mary Presidents Earn Highest Honor from Two Colleges

At 31 years, Sister Thomas Welder, OSB, served the longest tenure as female president at any college or university in America at the time she retired in 2009. Days later, at age 34, Monsignor James Shea succeeded Welder and became the youngest serving college president in the United States, and still is today. On Saturday, May 16, 2015, both Welder and Shea will receive honorary doctorate degrees – the highest honor bestowed by any college or university -from Belmont Abbey College (Charlotte, NC) and Thomas More College, (Merrimack, NH), respectively. Active in community, state and national professional, civic and religious organizations, Welder has promoted and modeled the Benedictine values. Under her leadership, Mary College expanded to university status in 1986 and added undergraduate and graduate degree programs at locations throughout the state and region. During her presidency, enrollment grew from 925 students to nearly 3,000 in 2004. As president emerita, Welder most recently earned the Caritas Award from Catholic Charities North Dakota. In 2004, she received the prestigious Theodore Roosevelt Rough Rider Award – the highest state award presented to select individuals who have achieved national recognition, reflecting credit and honor upon North Dakota and its citizens. The award states, “Sister Thomas is recognized as a woman who lives, serves and leads by example. Envisioning the University of Mary as the nation’s premier institution for the preparation of servant...

Read More

NSIC honors Mary’s Thorson, Stewart with end of year awards

Titles generally equal accolades and the four-time conference champion University of Mary women’s track and field team earned two major honors today. No stranger to these awards, Mike Thorson was named the Northern Sun Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Coach of the Year for the fourth straight year and Kathryn Stewart is a repeat choice as the NSIC Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year. The award recipients are selected by the NSIC coaches. Another spectacular performance at the conference championships earned Stewart the Northern Sun Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year honors for the second straight season. The senior from Kingston, Jamaica, won four events at the 2015 outdoor championships. She captured the 200 meter dash for third straight year and also won the 100 meter dash. Stewart separated from the field on the final leg on the Marauders winning 4×100 meter relay and ran on the victorious and NSIC record-setting 4×400 meter relay team. In her four outdoor seasons, Stewart has been a part of a conference championship team each year and won a combined 11 individual and relay team titles. A seven-time All-American and the 2015 NSIC Indoor Women’s Track Athlete of the Year, Stewart was selected to compete in the 200 meter dash and the 4×100 and the 4×400 meter relays at the 2015 NCAA Division II national track and field championships. Stewart is...

Read More

Mary Nursing Program Recognizes Student, Faculty & Healthcare Leader

As the University of Mary continues to meet the local, regional and national demands for highly educated and prepared nurses at all levels it strives to recognize those who go above and beyond in the classroom and service to others as current and future healthcare professionals. The University of Mary graduate nursing program recently honored three individuals, one student, one healthcare professional and one faculty member, for their commitment to excellence in nursing. The Excellence in Instruction for Healthcare Leader and Nursing Faculty Awards recognizes individuals who elevate graduate nursing students’ educational experiences by inspiring, encouraging, and challenging them to reach their full potential. The Future of Nursing Award recognizes a graduate nursing student who, during their academic program, has demonstrated the growth in professional aptitudes necessary to lead change and ensure high quality, safe patient care. Graduate nursing education at the University of Mary fosters responsibility, creativity, self-direction, and leadership that characterize a professional commitment and the continued desire to learn and grow. Faculty members and healthcare leaders, who interact with students during academic experiences, share the responsibility of students’ educational and professional formation. They also play a central role in students’ achievements of attaining core skills and attributes that are essential to becoming a competent advanced nursing professional. Sara Dvorak, clinical learning coordinator at Altru Health System in Grand Forks, was recognized with the 2015 Healthcare Leader...

Read More

Latest Tweets