Public Invited to University of Mary’s free band concert Sunday, March 17, 3 p.m.

BISMARCK, ND—North Dakotans have not yet been able to welcome spring to the Northern Plains. But perhaps a concert celebrating St. Patrick’s Day and all its spring glory can help usher it in sooner, rather than later? On Sunday, March 17 the University of Mary Department of Music presents their annual Spring Band Concert.

Scheduled for 3 p.m. in the new Lumen Vitae University Center’s Founders Hall on campus, the University Concert Band, under the direction of Dennis Gowen, professor of Music, director of Bands & High Brass, will feature numerous light-hearted works in celebration of the 400-year-old tradition of St. Patrick’s Day.

“We’ve got a great variety of selections on tap for the concert,” says Dennis Gowen, conductor of the University Concert Band. “Audiences rarely hear a large portion of American composer Leroy Anderson’s ‘Irish Suite’ performed as a set.”

Included in the Irish Suite are tunes such as The Girl I left Behind Me, The Last Rose of Summer, Irish Washerwoman, The Rakes of Mallow, and The Wearing of the Green.

This highly anticipated concert opens with Kirkpatrick Fanfare by Andrew Boysen, Jr. Also scheduled to be performed are Celtic Hymns and Dances by Eric Ewazen of the Juilliard School of Music, and Be Thou My Vision by Michigan composer David Gillingham.

“The focal point of the performance is Riverdance, by Bill Whelan,” said Gowen. “Everyone will recognize the tunes, and especially the infectious flavors of this rousing and well-known dance music.” This 12-minute work will feature many sections of the band, including the percussion section with our newly-obtained Irish Bodhrán.

The concert is free and open to the public. For more information, please call (701) 355-8068 or (701) 355-8301.

First Name Last Name Parent City Parent State
Regan Alexander Eau Claire WI
Emily Cicha Mandan ND
Claudia Diener Fredrick MD
Claudia Diener Hampton VA
Nicole Emmett Harvey ND
Lia Enander Grenora ND
Christina Erb Amenia ND
Jadynn Flowers Bismarck ND
Madison Gapp Park Rapids MN
Jane Gowen Bismarck ND
Liz Haaland Williston ND
Nathan Heenan Larson WI
Erin Heindel Las Vegas NV
Phillip Jacobs Dickinson ND
Theresa Karrmann Fond du Lac WI
Beth Kensok Wheatland ND
Kailee Klein Wahpeton ND
Zoe Krauskopf Louisville KY
Rylee Kubischta Bismarck ND
Phillip Litton Bismarck ND
Ekaterina Miller Bloomington MN
Timothy Miller Orange MA
Annie Mittelsteadt Bismarck ND
April Mogard Deering ND
Nicholas Mortenson Jamestown ND
Diana Nathe Melrose MN
Andrew Quinan Manassas VA
Eric Reed Harlowton MT
Barret Smith Bismarck ND
Jehannah Sollmann Port Angeles WA
Josef Sollmann Port Angeles WA
Mary Claire Talbot Carol Stream IA
Jessica Vandal Jamestown ND
Brianna Vetter Bismarck ND
Briele Vollmuth Lincoln ND
Briele Vollmuth Mandan ND
Maria Mack Rugby ND
Victoria Del Curto Oakdale CA
David Harrison Downers Grove IL
Ben Lee Bismarck ND
Gabrielle Nett St. James MN
Megan Ohlhauser Lincoln ND
Steph Otremba Sartell MN
Emily Sahl Harwood ND
Mariah Stewart Prescott WI